Bad hair days and avocados

Well, it’s been way too long since I have posted here – but I’mm baaack! So what’s been happening?  So glad you asked.  Sit down and let me tell you what I have been up to:

  • A month or so ago I went on a quilting retreat with some of my old sewing friends from my time on Mt Tamborine.  Twenty crazy crafters got together in Boonah in the lovely scenic rim of outer Brisbane.  A delightful, relaxed time full of lovely home cooked food, lots of chatter and laughter and lots of creativity zooming through the comfortable campsite.  Every need catered for, and so nice to catch up with good friends. A wonderful get away from my usual outings to dotors and hospitals.
  • I have had a progression in the growth of tumours in the liver. this has stressed the digestive system, making it difficult to eat or retain much food or fluid.  The outcome was two trips to th Emergency Department for rehydration,and lots more medication to try and settle things.
  • I have also begun a new chemotherapy regime. I now have a three week cycle that goes like this :  Day1 Carboplatin and Gemcitabine, Day 8 Gemcitabine, Day 15 off, and start again.  It, along with the effects of the tumour growth have made for a fairly lousy few weeks – especially when the chemo knocked most of my blood components down to critical levels.  A blood transfusion has helped with that, and I no longer feel like I am swimming through treacle to get from one room to the next.  To all blood donors out there – I thank you.
  • If blood tests after this second cycle do not show marked improvement, the regime will probably be stopped and reviewed for further options.
  • Two weeks ago we lost a dear friend, John from Tamborine Mountain, in a tragic  accident at his home.  HIs wife Gloria, (who was one of our crazy quilters on our weekend away) was with him as he passed away, crushed beneath the bus he was working on.  John was a genuine mate to many, and although always busy, was ever willing to go out of his way to help anyone who needed it.  I have always said he had a heart as big as Australia.  He will be missed by many and  our hearts are sad.
  • Although I wasn’t in peak form, we were able to go to the Mountain for John’s Memorial Service.  It was a sad time, but also lovely to catch up with special friends. And sitting on the deck on a beautiful, sunny winter’s morning, overlooking the Gold Coast and enjoying fresh avocados on toast for breakfast with dear friends wasn’t hard to take either.
  • With the progression of disease has come a whiter shade of pale. I daren’t sit on our cream lounge without wearing bright colors or at least lipstick, because I blend right in and may get sat upon. My hair has come back very white, so I have a somewhat insipid appearance (with just a tinge of yellow) – but at least I have hair now. Believe it or not, I even had a bad hair day yesterday!  Who would have thought that was such cause for glee?
  • I have made my 3 minutes of fame on a radio broadcast on ABC Radio‘s Encounter Program.  The whole program is about “The Power of Vulnerability”, based on the research of Dr Brene Bown. It is an hour long show, but I appear at about the 25 minute mark, and the link can be found on the Radio National Website.

So that is what I have been up to.  And what have I learned in this time?  It’s an old tale, but I know it is true – people and connection is what is important in life.  Enjoy each day and tell people that you care. Know, too, that God cares and I can truly say – He is and ever present help in times of trouble.                                                                                                                                            Oh, and enjoy the bad hair days – at least you have hair!

2 thoughts on “Bad hair days and avocados

  1. Carol, once again, you have written beautifully about your last few weeks…both the good parts and not horrible parts. So sad to hear of the loss of your friend. In my prayers, Gaye

  2. We are home from our Cruise tonight but always great to hear from you via your blog You are so talented & our pryaers are always with you . My heart goes out to you in love Cynthiaxxx

Leave a Reply

