Hupomone

Mmmmm. Interesting word. I don’t even know how to say it. But it is a word that means a lot to me. A word I am trying to live out every day.

Hupomone – the Greek word for endurance. Steadfast endurance.

Not only the abiblity to bear hard things, but the ability, in bearing them, to turn them into glory.

Not an easy thing : not a romantic notion of flying over the difficult times and dancing through the hard places. Not something I can do by myself.

But I don’t have to. God promised a comforter, a guide to lead me through the darkness and the pain. I take His hand, and He leads me and helps me to turn it into Glory.

I am grateful.

*thankyou for the loving and encouraging words during our hard time. It was sad to say goodbye to our beautiful girl, and to see the pain of our boy. But to be there was special, and we are glad we got to share her life for those years.

One thought on “Hupomone

  1. I thought of you and this post Carol when i read this in Oswald Chambers’ book “My utmost for his highest” yesterday… TENACITY. “Tenacity is more than endurance, it is endurance combined with the absolute certainty that what we are looking for IS going to transpire…the call to spiritual tenacity is not to hang on and do nothing, but to work deliberately on the certainly that God is not going to be worsted.” May He continue to empower you to not only endure but conquer!

Leave a Reply

